A Conservative Convention


By: Edward L. Daley

If you are a conservative who believes that the current leaders of the Republican party are abandoning your core values, and ignoring your opinions on issues like judicial activism, border security, healthcare, public education, the United Nations, Social Security, government spending, and U.S. Energy Policy, then join me in promoting the idea of a conservative political convention in the coming year.

What do I mean by a conservative convention?

Well, in the simplest of terms, what I’m proposing is an alternative to the next Republican convention, one which is composed entirely of genuine right-wing politicians, activists, authors, and public figures who understand that our government has become far too large, bureaucratic and inefficient of late, and who appreciate the fact that the insidious mental disease know as political correctness has reached epidemic proportions in Washington DC.

Why am I making this proposal?

Because I believe that the modern Republican party needs a wake-up call from it’s conservative base before the next Presidential election, or we may well lose the White House to the Democrat party in 2008, and be forced to suffer the consequences of at least four years of mind-numbing leftist policies thereafter. I don’t think I need to explain to any of you just how detrimental to the United States another Clinton administration would be, especially at a time in our history when we face some of the most dangerous threats ever to our national security from forces both external and internal.

Right now America’s best, brightest, and bravest individuals are fighting to secure liberty for millions of people abroad, while
simultaneously defending the very way of life that you and I take for granted here at home. But what kind of home will the members of our armed forces come back to in the months and years to come? Will it be a country worthy of their sacrifices; one which promotes traditional family values, rewards hard work and success, adheres to the rule of law, encourages educational excellence, and nourishes the entrepreneurial spirit of all Americans, or will it be a place where moral relativism is the norm, where protecting children’s feelings is more important than preparing them for adulthood, and where the desire for quot;equality of outcome for all" has replaced the desire for true fairness and justice?

In my opinion it is imperative that the demonstrably superior ideology known as conservatism dominate the American political landscape for decades to come, and for that to happen, its most intelligent and well-spoken champions must come together in one place, at one time, and lay their cards on the table for the entire country to see.

I hear people talk about the conservative movement every day, but how much "movement" has there been in our favor recently? I submit to you that the answer to that question is: NOT NEARLY ENOUGH! So what I ask of you today is that you help your fellow conservatives take on the elite power-brokers who currently run the Republican party, and commit to an idea which could, if it’s properly nurtured to maturity, shake the very foundation of American politics.

Back in the ’80s we had the "Reagan Revolution", and every right-winger old enough to remember those enlightened years must surely be able to appreciate just how powerful the conservative message can be when it’s articulated in an honest and forthright manner. Today I know of a great many gifted orators who espouse the very same beliefs as former President Reagan, and I’m willing to bet that their combined efforts could arouse in the hearts of average Americans the same feelings of pride and
optimism that the ‘Great Communicator’ once did.

Right-wing Americans must show their fellow countrymen that the rumor being bandied about by the "mainstream" news media lately, of a fissure developing within the conservative community, is complete hogwash! If anything, conservatives have become more convinced than ever before that their ideology is the ONLY one which can save America from complete collapse in the coming decades, and I’m confident that they are willing to do whatever it takes to assure that one of their own is elected President in thirty months’ time.

It is my belief that a conservative convention would be an outstanding vehicle for helping to achieve that end, and I’m hopeful that others of my ideological bent will support me in this endeavor. Of course, pulling off such an ambitious scheme is going to
require the cooperation of some of the most influential right-wingers in the United States, yet if everyone who supports my proposal is willing to share it with even a few of the individuals and/or organizations listed below, I see no reason why the idea shouldn’t eventually bear fruit.

Keep in mind, however, that this idea is just that… an idea. I’ve done no real planning to this point, nor have I contacted anyone concerning the matter. After all, I’m just a lowly op-ed writer. I know exactly squat about organizing such events, and I don’t have any connections within the upper echelon of the conservative community. Basically, I’m just throwing this proposal out into cyberspace, and waiting to see what sort of reaction it gets.

The fact is that for an event like this to take place, it would require the organizational, fund-raising, and marketing skills of people who’ve actually been involved in similar projects in the past, or who at least belong to relatively large, well organized, politically active groups.

Here is a list of some conservative organizations that might be helpful in getting such a project off the ground.

The American Conservative Union – http://www.conservative.org

Contact Information – http://www.conservative.org/asp/feedback.asp


The Heritage Foundation – http://www.heritage.org

Contact Information – http://www.heritage.org/about/contact.cfm


The American Enterprise Institute – http://www.aei.org

Contact Information – http://www.aei.org/about/filter.,contentID.20038142214500071/default.asp


The Federalist Society – http://www.fed-soc.org

Contact Information – fedsoc@radix.net


The Becket Fund For Religious Liberty – http://www.becketfund.org

Contact Information – http://www.becketfund.org/index.php/article/82.html


The Media Research Center – http://www.mediaresearch.org

Contact Information – mrc@mediaresearch.org


The Heartland Institute – http://www.heartland.org

Contact Information – think@heartland.org


The Landmark Legal Foundation – http://www.landmarklegal.org

Contact Information – eric@landmarklegal.org


The Claremont Institute – http://www.claremont.org

Contact Information – info@claremont.org

The Family Research Council – http://www.frc.org

Contact Information – http://www.frc.org/get.cfm?c=CONTACT_FRC


The Young America’s Foundation – http://www.yaf.org

Contact Information – yaf@yaf.org


The Hudson Institute – http://www.hudson.org

Contact Information – info@hudson.org


The Christian Coalition Of America – http://www.cc.org

Contact Information – http://www.cc.org/contact.cfm


The Ethics And Public Policy Center – http://www.eppc.org

Contact Information – Ethics@eppc.org


The National Rifle Association – http://www.nra.org

Contact Information – https://www.nrahq.org/contact.asp


The Minuteman Project – http://www.minutemanproject.com

Contact Information – http://www.minutemanproject.com/contact.html


Citizens Against Government Waste – http://www.cagw.org

Contact Information – http://www.cagw.org/site/PageServer?pagename=Contacts


Judicial Watch – http://www.judicialwatch.org

Contact Information – http://www.judicialwatch.org/contact.shtml

Here is a list of some conservative talk radio hosts who could be extremely useful in
spreading the word about the aforementioned proposal.

Laura Ingraham – http://www.lauraingraham.com

Contact Information – http://www.lauraingraham.com/asklaura


Glenn Beck – http://www.glennbeck.com

Contact Information – http://www.glennbeck.com/contact/index.shtml


G. Gordon Liddy – http://www.liddyshow.us

Contact Information – liddyshow2@aol.com


Rush Limbaugh – http://www.rushlimbaugh.com

Contact Information – rush@eibnet.com


Lars Larson – http://www.larslarson.com

Contact Information – lars@larslarson.com


Mark Levin – http://www.wabcradio.com/showdj.asp?DJID=12009

Contact Information – marklevin@wabcradio.com

Sean Hannity – http://www.hannity.com

Contact Information – http://www.hannity.com/index/contact-form


Howie Carr – http://www.howiecarr.com

Contact Information – howiecarr@wrko.com


Jerry Doyle – http://www.jerrydoyle.com

Contact Information – jd@jerrydoyle.com


Bruce Elliott – http://wbal.com/shows/elliott

Contact Information – bruce@wbal.com


Dennis Prager – http://www.dennisprager.com

Contact Information – dennisprager@dennisprager.com


Mike Gallagher – http://www.mikeonline.com

Contact Information – http://www.mikeonline.com/askmike


Rusty Humphries – http://www.talktorusty.com

Contact Information – http://www.talktorusty.com/askrusty


Todd Feinburg – http://www.toddtalk.com

Contact Information – http://www.toddtalk.com/contact.asp


Rick Roberts – http://www.760kfmb.com/rick_blog

Contact Information – rickroberts@kfmb.com

Here is a list of conservative weblogs who’s administrators may be interested in becoming involved in the conservative convention project.

Renew America – http://www.renewamerica.us

Contact Information – editor@renewamerica.us


The Conservative Woman – http://theconservativewoman.org

Contact Information – contact@theconservativewoman.org
Insight Magazine – http://www.insightmag.com
Contact Information – jkuhner@washingtontimes.com
The Omega Letter – http://www.omegaletter.com
Contact Information – http://www.omegaletter.com/ol_staff.asp
The American Chronicle – http://www.americanchronicle.com
Contact Information – http://www.americanchronicle.com/notices/submit_work.asp
The Capitol Hill Coffee House – http://capitolhillcoffeehouse.com
Contact Information – editor@capitolhillcoffeehouse.com
Republican Operative – http://republicanoperative.com
Contact Information – http://www.republicanoperative.com/forums/sendmessage.php
News Busters – http://www.newsbusters.org
Contact Information – newsbusters@mediaresearch.org
Chron Watch – http://www.chronwatch.com
Contact Information – chronwatch@aol.com
The New Media Journal – http://www.newmediajournal.us
Contact Information – contactnmj@newmediajournal.us
Ether Zone – http://www.etherzone.com
Contact Information – bob@etherzone.com
The Dionysus Post – http://www.dionysuspost.com
Contact Information – ChrisHartsock86@aol.com
Red State – http://www.redstate.com
Contact Information – http://contact.redstate.com
The Conservative Voice – http://www.theconservativevoice.com
Contact Information – editor@theconservativevoice.com
Conservative Life – http://conservativelife.com
Contact Information – admin@conservativelife.com
News By Us – http://newsbyus.com
Contact Information – posts@newsbyus.com
Lady Liberty’s Constitution Clearinghouse – http://www.ladylibrty.com
Contact Information – ladylibrty@ladylibrty.com
The Common Voice – http://www.commonvoice.com
Contact Information – http://www.commonvoice.com/submitfeedback.asp
The Small Government Times – http://www.smallgovtimes.com
Contact
Information – http://www.smallgovtimes.com/thenest/contact/index.html

Mich News – http://www.michnews.com
Contact Information – michnews@michnews.com
Black Anthem – http://www.blackanthem.com/Home/index.html
Contact Information – http://www.blackanthem.com/communications/index.html
Conservative Discussion – http://conservativediscussion.com
Contact Information – ericjodom@gmail.com
Mullenax News – http://www.richardmullenax.com
Contact Information – http://www.richardmullenax.com/?page=contact
News Bull – http://www.newsbull.com
Contact Information – info@Newsbull.com
The American Thinker – http://www.americanthinker.com
Contact Information – editor@americanthinker.com
The Intellectual Conservative – http://www.intellectualconservative.com
Contact Information – feedback@intellectualconservative.com
Mens News Daily – http://www.mensnewsdaily.com
Contact Information – editor@mensnewsdaily.com
Land Of The Free – http://www.thelandofthefree.net
Contact Information – landofthefree@comcast.net
GOPUSA – http://www.gopusa.com
Contact Information – http://www.gopusa.com/company/contact.shtml
The American Daily – http://www.americandaily.com
Contact
Information – editor@americandaily.com

We Hold These Truths – http://weholdthesetruths.org
Contact Information – http://weholdthesetruths.org/modules/contact
The Capitol Hill Coffee House – http://capitolhillcoffeehouse.com
Contact Information – editor@capitolhillcoffeehouse.com
The Reality Check – http://therealitycheck.org
Contact
Information – http://therealitycheck.org/contacts.htm

Opinion Editorials – http://www.opinioneditorials.com
Contact Information – opeds@opeds.com
Right Conservative – http://www.rightconservative.com
Contact Information – http://www.rightconservative.com/contact.html
Radio Free West Hartford – http://www.dondodd.com
Contact Information – http://www.dondodd.com/comment/comments.html
The Common Conservative – http://commonconservative.com
Contact Information – CommConsEditor@aol.com
Orbusmax – http://www.orbusmax.com
Contact Information – orbusmax@orbusmax.com
TYSK News – http://www.tysknews.com
Contact Information – tysk@tysknews.com
WebCommentary – http://www.webcommentary.com

Contact Information – http://www.webcommentary.com/feedback.htm
Conservatown News – http://www.conservatown.com
Contact Information – http://www.bloggingman.org/contact-us.html
Conservative Battleline – http://www.acuf.org/issues/index.asp
Contact Information – info@conservativebattleline.com

Here is a list of people who, in my estimation, would be well suited to address a large assemblage of conservative conventioneers.

Newt Gingrich
http://www.newt.org/backpage.asp?art=15
Contact Informationhttp://www.newt.org/backpage.asp?art=2709 or speeches@newt.org
Thomas Sowell
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Sowell
Contact Informationhttp://www.creators.com/opinion_writetheauthor.cfm?pg=write&columnsname=tso
Rush Limbaugh
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rush_Limbaugh
Contact Information – rush@eibnet.com
Stuart Butler
http://www.heritage.org/About/Staff/WilliamBeach.cfm
Contact Informationstaff@heritage.org
David Horowitz
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Horowitz
Contact Informationhttp://www.frontpagemag.com/Contact/Contact.asp
Douglas Besharov
http://www.aei.org/scholars/scholarID.5,filter.all/scholar.asp
Contact InformationDBesharov@aei.org
Mark Levin
http://www.answers.com/topic/mark-levin
Contact Information href="mailto:markrlevin@aol.com">markrlevin@aol.com
Chuck Donovan
http://www.frc.org/get.cfm?i=BY05F04
Contact Information – Attention Charles A. Donovanhttps://www.frc.org/get.cfm?c=CONTACT_FRC&step=2&iss=ACTIVE
Alan
Keyes

http://www.renewamerica.us/keyes/whois.htm
Contact Informationakeyes@worldnetdaily.com
Dinesh D’Souza
http://www.dineshdsouza.com/more/about.html
Contact Informationdineshjdsouza@aol.com
Joseph Bast
http://www.heartland.org/SpeakersBureauArticle.cfm?sbrId=1
Contact Informationjbast@heartland.org
William Bennett
http://rightweb.irc-online.org/profile/1034
Contact Informationhttp://www.bennettmornings.com/askbill
Tom Schatz
http://www.cagw.org/site/PageServer?pagename=about_schatz
Contact Informationtschatz@cagw.org
Ann Coulter
http://www.anncoulter.com/cgi-local/content.cgi?name=bio
Contact Informationhttp://www.townhall.com/opinion/contact/18.html
Hillel Fradkin
http://www.futureofmuslimworld.com/scholars/scholarID.9/scholar_detail.asp
Contact Informationhillel@hudson.org
Richard Perle
http://www.aei.org/scholars/scholarID.49,filter.all/scholar.asp
Contact InformationRPerle@aei.org

And here is a list of pontential subjects to be addressed at the proposed event.
Judicial Activism And The Supreme Court
Border Security And Illegal Immigration
The Threat Of Terrorism And Nuclear Rogue Nations

Healthcare Reform
The American Left’s Assault On Christianity
Public Education Reform
International Free Trade Agreements And America’s Manufacturing Base
Social Security Reform
The Plague Of Political Correctness
Harnessing Government Spending And Regulation
Overturning Roe V. Wade
America’s Foreign Oil Dependency And Future Energy Needs
Tax Reform And The IRS

In closing I would just like to add that I welcome any constructive input concerning this article from any American who embraces a right-wing philosophy, and I thank in advance those of you who are willing to lend your time and energies to this cause. Even though garnering enough support from the sort of individuals who are capable of organizing so grand an event will likely prove to be difficult in the extreme, I’m still willing to give it my best shot. After all, the worst thing that can happen if this endeavor proves to be a failure is pretty much the same thing that I’ve come to expect from the Republican party lately… which is nothing.



Edward L. Daley is the owner of the Daley Times-Post
href="http://www.times-post.com">http://www.times-post.com

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.